#### Swampscott Retirement Board Meeting Minutes June 23, 2020

A meeting of the Contributory Retirement Board was held via Zoom conference call on Tuesday, June 23, 2020.

<u>Attendance</u> – Chair, Thomas H. Driscoll, Jr., Kevin Breen, Robert Powell, and Amy Sarro.

## Approve Minutes:

The Board voted unanimously on a motion made by Kevin Breen and seconded by Robert Powell to approve the meeting minutes of May 26, 2020. A roll call vote was taken Driscoll "I", Breen "I", Powell "I" and Sarro "I".

## **New Members:**

The Board voted on a motion by Amy Sarro and seconded by Kevin Breen to approve the following new members:

- Angelica Noble SPD Administrative Assistant DOH 6/1/2020
- Michael Kenyon SPD Patrolman DOH 6/1/2020

• Cheryl Doucette – TWN – Finance Asst. DOH 12/3/2018-Membership Date 6/1/2020 A roll call vote was taken Driscoll "I", Breen "I", Powell "I" and Sarro "I".

## Expenses/Financials:

The Board voted unanimously on a motion made by Robert Powell and seconded by Kevin Breen to approve the following:

- A/P Warrant 06/2020 \$12,821.61
- Payroll Warrant 06/30/2020 \$563,677.35

A roll call vote was taken Driscoll "I", Breen "I", Powell "I", Sarro "I".

• The Board reviewed the financials for January 2020 through April 2020.

# **Buyback Request**

• Cheryl Doucette

Employee Cheryl Doucette requested to buyback her previous part-time service with the Town from 12/3/2018 through 5/29/2020 under 20 hours per week. On 6/1/2020 Ms. Doucette began working 20 hours per week and thus became a member of Swampscott retirement system. The Board voted unanimously on a motion made by Kevin Breen and seconded by Robert Powell to allow Ms. Doucette to buyback 7.5 months of her previous part time service. A roll call vote was taken Driscoll "I", Breen "I", Powell "I", Sarro "I".

#### New Business:

• Harvey Rowe-Retiree-Veteran's Status/Veteran's Pay

Mr. Rowe had inquired with the Retirement Administrator why he was not receiving the veteran's benefit. Mr. Rowe retired in 1996 but there was not a copy of his DD214 in his file when his retirement allowance was calculated. Mr. Rowe has subsequently supplied the office with a copy of his DD214. The decision to grant Mr. Rowe the veteran's benefit was tabled until the next meeting when more information could be attained.

• Acceptance of Additional Liability/S. Moltz

Sandra Moltz was an employee of the Swampscott Public Library from 9/30/2002 to 8/12/2016. In September of 2016 she took a position as the School Librarian at which time her membership she should have been transferred to MTRS. However, Town deductions continued to be taken through 11/18/2016. MTRS deductions did not begin until 12/1/2016. When Ms. Moltz's funds were transferred to MTRS, she was only credited with 13.8333 years of service with the SRB which did not included the deductions taken in error form 9/2016-11/2016. MTRS requested Swampscott accept the liability for service 9/30/2002-11/18/2016 for a total of 14.0833 years. The Board voted unanimously on a motion made by Robert Powell and seconded by Kevin Breen to accept liability for 14.0833 years of service. An amended letter will be sent to MTRS. A roll call vote was taken Driscoll "I", Breen "I", Powell "I", Sarro "I".

• Fiduciary Insurance Renewal

The Fiduciary Insurance renewal policy was presented to the Board for the Chairman's signature.

• Town Meeting Information

Member Robert Powell suggested at next year's Town Meeting under Town Reports, the Board provide information regarding the pension fund liability and an overview of the funding status.

# Deaths:

• James Armstrong-Former Firefighter-DOD 6/20/2020

# <u>Adjournment</u>

The Board voted unanimously on a motion made by Kevin Breen and seconded by Robert Powell to adjourn the meeting at 8:41am. A roll call vote was taken Driscoll "I", Breen "I", Powell "I", Sarro "I".

Respectfully submitted,

Nancy A. Lord Retirement Administrator

\_ Chair, Appointed

Thomas H. Driscoll, Jr., Esq.

\_\_\_\_\_ Vice-Chair, Elected Member

John F. Behen, Jr.

\_ Elected Member

Kevin F. Breen

Appointed Member

Robert J. Powell, III

\_\_\_ Ex-Offico

Amy L. Sarro