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Regulation of the Swampscott Board of Health  

Sale, Permitting, and Use of Tobacco Products, Nicotine Delivery Products  

 and of E-Cigarettes  

 

A. Statement of Purpose: 

 

Whereas there exists conclusive evidence that tobacco smoking causes cancer, respiratory and cardiac diseases, 

negative birth outcomes, irritations to the eyes, nose and throat
1
;  

 

Whereas among the 15.7% of students nationwide who currently smoke cigarettes and were less than 18 years 

old, 14.1% usually obtained them by buying them in a store (i.e. convenience store, supermarket, or discount 

store) or gas station
2
; 

 

Whereas nationally in 2009, 72% of high school smokers and 66% of middle school smokers were not asked to 

show proof of age when purchasing cigarettes
3
; 

 

Whereas the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services has concluded that nicotine is as addictive as 

cocaine or heroin
4
; 

 

Whereas despite state laws prohibiting the sale of tobacco products to minors, access by minors to tobacco 

products is a major public health problem; 

 

Whereas more than 80 percent of all adult smokers begin smoking before the age of 18, more than 90 percent 

do so before leaving their teens, and more than 3.5 million middle and high school students smoke;
5
  

 

Whereas the Institute of Medicine (IOM) concludes that raising the minimum age of legal access to tobacco 

products to 21 will reduce tobacco initiation, particularly among adolescents 15 – 17, and will improve health 

across the lifespan and save lives
6
. 

                                                           
1 Center for Disease Control and Prevention, (CDC) (2012), Health Effects of Cigarette Smoking Fact Sheet.  Retrieved from: 

http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistice/fact_sheets/health_effects/effects_cig_smoking/index.htm. 
2
 CDC (2009), Youth Risk Behavior, Surveillance Summaries (Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)  2010: 59, 11 (No. SS-

55))  Retrieved from: http://www.cdc.gov/HealthyYouth/yrbs/index.htm. 
3
 CDC Office of Smoking and Health, National Youth Tobacco Survey, 2009.  Analysis by the American Lung Association (ALA), 

Research and Program Services Division using SPSS software, as reported in “Trends in Tobacco Use”, ALA Research and Program 
Services, Epidemiology and Statistics Unit, July 2011.  Retrieved from: www.lung.org/finding-cures/our-research/trend-
reports/Tobacco-Trend-Report.pdf. 
4
 CDC (2010), How Tobacco Smoke Causes Disease:  The Biology and Behavioral Basis for Smoking-Attributable Disease.  Retrieved 

from: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/sgr/2010/. 
5
 SAMHSA, Calculated based on data in 2011 National Survey on Drug Use and Health and U. S. Department of Health and Human 

services (HHA).  The Health Consequences of Smoking-50 Years of Progress. A Report of the Surgeon General, 2014. 
6
 IOM (Institute of Medicine) 2015. Public Health Implications of Raising the Minimum Age of Legal Access to Tobacco Products. 

Washington DC:  The National Academies Press, 2015. 
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Whereas in Massachusetts, youth use of all other tobacco products, including cigars, rose from 13.3% in 2003 

to 17.6% in 2009, and was higher than the rate of current cigarette use (16%) for the first time in history
7
; 

 

Whereas Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) machines located in retail stores enable retailers to sell 

cigarettes without paying the excise taxes that are imposed on conventionally manufactured cigarettes.  High 

excise taxes encourage adult smokers to quit
8
 and high prices deter youth from starting.

9
   Inexpensive 

cigarettes, like those produced from RYO machines, promote the use of tobacco, resulting in a negative impact 

on public health and increased health care costs, and severely undercut the evidence-based public health benefit 

of imposing high excise taxes on tobacco; 

 

Whereas it is estimated that 90% of what is being sold as pipe tobacco is actually being used in Non-Residential 

RYO machines.  Pipe tobacco shipments went from 11.5 million pounds in 2009 to 22.4 million pounds in 

2010.  Traditional RYO tobacco shipments dropped from 11.2 million pounds to 5.8 million pounds; and 

cigarette shipments dropped from 308.6 billion sticks to 292.7 billion sticks according to the December 2010 

statistical report released by the U.S. Department of the Treasury, Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau 

(TTB)
10

; 

 

Now, therefore it is the intention of the Swampscott Board of Health to regulate the sale of tobacco products 

and nicotine delivery products. 

 

 

B. Authority: 

This regulation is promulgated pursuant to the authority granted to the Swampscott Board of Health by 

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 111, Section 31 that "Boards of Health may make reasonable health 

regulations". 

 

C. Definitions: 

For the purpose of this regulation, the following words shall have the following meanings: 

                                                           
7
 Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Data Brief, Trends in Youth Tobacco Use in Massachusetts, 1993-2009.  Retrieved from: 

http://www.mass.gov/Eeohhs2/docs/dph/tobacco_control/adolescent_tobacco_use_youth_trends_1993_2009.pdf. 
8
 Eriksen, M., Mackay, J., Ross, H. (2012).  The Tobacco Atlas, Fourth Edition, American Cancer Society, Chapter 29, p. 80.  Retrieved 

from: www.TobaccoAtlas.org. 
9
 Chaloupka, F. J. & Liccardo Pacula, R., NIH, NCI (2001).  The Impact of Price on Youth Tobacco Use, Smoking and Tobacco Control 

Monograph 14:  Changing Adolescent Smoking Prevalence) 193 – 200. Retrieved from: http://dccps.nih.gov/TCRB/monographs/. 
10

 TTB (2011).  Statistical Report – Tobacco (2011) (TTB S 5210-12-2010).  Retrieved from:  
http://www.ttb.gov/statistics/2010/201012tobacco.pdf. 
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Blunt Wrap: Any tobacco product manufactured or packaged as a wrap or as a hollow tube made wholly or in 

part from tobacco that is designed or intended to be filled by the consumer with loose tobacco or other fillers. 

Business Agent: An individual who has been designated by the owner or operator of any establishment to be the 

manager or otherwise in charge of said establishment. 

Cigar: Any roll of tobacco that is wrapped in leaf tobacco or in any substance containing tobacco with or 

without a tip or mouthpiece not otherwise defined as a cigarette under Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 

64C, Section 1, Paragraph 1. 

E-Cigarette: Any electronic nicotine delivery product composed of a mouthpiece, heating element, battery 

and/or electronic circuits that provides a vapor of liquid nicotine to the user, or relies on vaporization of solid 

nicotine or any liquid. This term shall include such devices whether they are manufactured as e-cigarettes, e-

cigars, e-pipes or under any other product name. 

Employee: Any individual who performs services for an employer. 

Employer: Any individual, partnership, association, corporation, trust or other organized group of individuals 

that uses the services of one (1) or more employees. 

Minor: Any individual who is under the age of twenty-one (21). 

Nicotine Delivery Product: Any manufactured article or product made wholly or in part of a tobacco substitute 

or containing nicotine that is expected or intended for human consumption, but not including a product 

approved by the United States Food and Drug Administration for sale as a tobacco use cessation or harm 

reduction product or for other medical purposes and which is being marketed and sold solely for that approved 

purpose. Nicotine delivery products include, but are not limited to, e-cigarettes. 

Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own (RYO) Machine: A mechanical device made available for use (including to an 

individual who produces cigars, cigarettes, smokeless tobacco, pipe tobacco, or roll-your-own tobacco solely 

for the individual's own personal consumption or use) that is capable of making cigarettes, cigars or other 

tobacco products. RYO machines located in private homes used for solely personal consumption are not Non-

Residential RYO machines. 

Permit Holder: Any person engaged in the sale or distribution of tobacco or nicotine delivery products directly 

to consumers who applies for and receives a tobacco and nicotine delivery product sales permit or any person 

who is required to apply for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit pursuant to these 

regulations, or his or her business agent.  

Retail Tobacco Store: An establishment that is not required to possess a retail food permit whose primary 

purpose is to sell or offer for sale to consumers, but not for resale, tobacco products and tobacco paraphernalia, 

in which the sale of other products is merely incidental, and in which the entry of persons under the age of 21 is 

prohibited at all times, and maintains a valid permit for the retail sale of tobacco products as required to be 

issued by the Swampscott Board of Health. 
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Self-Service Display: Any display from which customers may select a tobacco product or a nicotine delivery 

product without assistance from an employee or store personnel. 

Tobacco Product: Cigarettes, cigars, chewing tobacco, pipe tobacco, bidis, snuff or tobacco in any of its forms. 

Vending Machine: Any automated or mechanical self-service device, which upon insertion of money, tokens or 

any other form of payment, dispenses or makes cigarettes, any other tobacco product or nicotine delivery 

product. 

 

D. Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales to Minors Prohibited: 

1. No person shall sell tobacco or nicotine delivery products or permit tobacco or nicotine delivery products to 

be sold to a minor; or not being the minor's parent or legal guardian, give tobacco or nicotine delivery products 

to a minor. 

2. Required Signage 

a. In conformance with and in addition to Massachusetts General Law, Chapter 270, Section 7, a copy of 

Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 270, Section 6, shall be posted conspicuously by the owner or 

other person in charge thereof in the shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail. The 

notice shall be provided by the Massachusetts Department of Public Health and made available from the 

Swampscott Board of Health. The notice shall be at least 48 square inches and shall be posted 

conspicuously by the permit holder in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that it 

may be readily seen by a person standing at or approaching the cash register. The notice shall directly 

face the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 feet or 

greater than 9 feet from the floor. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to 

sell tobacco products at retail shall conspicuously post any additional signs required by the 

Massachusetts Department of Public Health. 

 

b. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell tobacco products at retail shall 

conspicuously post signage provided by the Swampscott Board of Health that discloses current referral 

information about smoking cessation. 

 

c. The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell nicotine delivery products at 

retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating “The sale of nicotine delivery products to minors under 21 

years of age is prohibited.” The owner or other person in charge of a shop or other place used to sell e-

cigarettes at retail shall conspicuously post a sign stating, “The use of e-cigarettes at indoor 

establishments is prohibited by local law.” The notices shall be no smaller than 8.5” by 11” and shall be 

posted conspicuously in the retail establishment or other place in such a manner so that they may be 

readily seen by a person standing at, or approaching the cash register. These notices shall directly face 

the purchaser and shall not be obstructed from view or placed at a height of less than 4 or greater than 9 

feet from the floor. 
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3. Identification: Each person selling or distributing tobacco or nicotine delivery products shall verify the age of 

the purchaser by means of a valid government-issued photographic identification containing the bearer's date of 

birth that the purchaser is 21 years old or older. Verification is required for any person under the age of 27. 

4. All retail sales of tobacco or nicotine delivery products must be face-to-face between the seller and the buyer 

and occur at the permitted location. 

 

E. Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit: 

1. No person shall sell or otherwise distribute tobacco or nicotine delivery products at retail establishments 

within the town of Swampscott without first obtaining a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit 

issued annually by the Swampscott Board of Health. Only owners of establishments with a permanent, non-

mobile location in Swampscott are eligible to apply for a permit and sell tobacco products or nicotine delivery 

products at the specified location in Swampscott. 

2. As part of the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit application process, the applicant will be 

provided with the Swampscott Board of Health regulation. Each applicant is required to sign a statement 

declaring that the applicant has read said regulation and that the applicant is responsible for instructing any and 

all employees who will be responsible for tobacco and nicotine delivery product sales regarding federal, state 

and local laws regarding the sale of tobacco and this regulation. 

3. Each applicant who sells tobacco is required to provide proof of a current tobacco sales license issued by the 

Massachusetts Department of Revenue before a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit can be 

issued. 

4. The fee for a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be determined by the Swampscott 

Board of Health annually and approved by the Board of Selectman.  

5. A separate permit is required for each retail establishment selling tobacco and/or nicotine delivery products. 

6. Each Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be displayed at the retail establishment in a 

conspicuous place. 

7. No Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit holder shall allow any employee to sell tobacco 

products or nicotine delivery products until such employee reads this regulation and federal and state laws 

regarding the sale of tobacco and signs a statement, a copy of which will be placed on file in the office of the 

employer, that he/she has read the regulation and applicable state and federal laws. 

8. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit is non-transferable. A new owner of an establishment 

that sells tobacco or nicotine delivery products must apply for a new permit. No new permit will be issued 

unless and until all outstanding penalties incurred by the previous permit holder are satisfied in full. 
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9. Issuance of a Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be conditioned on an applicant’s 

consent to unannounced, periodic inspections of his/her retail establishment to ensure compliance with this 

regulation. 

10. A Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit will not be renewed if the permit holder has failed to 

pay all fines issued and the time period to appeal the fines has expired and/or has not satisfied any outstanding 

permit suspensions. 

 

F. Prohibition of the Sale of Blunt Wraps: 

No person or entity shall sell or distribute blunt wraps in Swampscott.   

 

G. Free Distribution and Coupon Redemption: 

No person shall distribute, or cause to be distributed, any free samples of tobacco products or nicotine delivery 

products.   

 

H. Out-of-Package Sales: 

The sale or distribution of tobacco products in any form other than an original factory-wrapped package is 

prohibited.  No person may sell or cause to be sold or distribute or cause to be distributed any cigarette package 

that contains fewer than twenty (20) cigarettes, including single cigarettes. 

 

I. Self-Service Displays: 

All self-service displays of tobacco products and/or nicotine delivery products are prohibited. All humidors 

including, but not limited to, walk-in humidors must be locked. 

 

J. Vending Machines:  

All tobacco and/or nicotine delivery product vending machines are prohibited. 

 

K.  Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own Machines: 

All Non-Residential Roll-Your-Own machines are prohibited. 
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L.  Use of E-Cigarettes and Tobacco Products 

The use of e-cigarettes and tobacco products is prohibited wherever smoking is prohibited per M.G.L. Ch. 270, 

§22 and in retail tobacco stores, on public beaches and in public parks in the Town of Swampscott. 

 

M.  Violations: 

1. It shall be the responsibility of the establishment, permit holder and/or his or her business agent to ensure 

compliance with all sections of this regulation pertaining to his or her distribution of tobacco and/or nicotine 

delivery products. The violator shall receive: 

a. In the case of a first violation, a fine of one hundred dollars ($100.00). 

 

b. In the case of a second violation within sixty (60) months of the date of the current violation, a fine of 

two hundred dollars ($200.00) and the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be 

suspended for seven (7) consecutive business days. 

 

c. In the case of three or more violations within a sixty (60) month period, a fine of three hundred dollars 

($300.00) and the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit shall be suspended for thirty 

(30) consecutive business days. 

 

2. Refusal to cooperate with inspections pursuant to this regulation shall result in the suspension of the Tobacco 

and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit for thirty (30) consecutive business days.  

3. In addition to the monetary fines set above, any permit holder who engages in the sale or distribution of 

tobacco or nicotine delivery products directly to a consumer while his or her permit is suspended shall be 

subject to the suspension of all Board of Health issued permits for thirty (30) consecutive business days.  

4. The Swampscott Board of Health shall provide notice of the intent to suspend a Tobacco and Nicotine 

Delivery Product Sales Permit, which notice shall contain the reasons therefor and establish a time and date for 

a hearing which date shall be no earlier than seven (7) days after the date of said notice. The permit holder or its 

business agent shall have an opportunity to be heard at such hearing and shall be notified of the Board of 

Health's decision and the reasons therefore in writing. After a hearing, the Swampscott Board of Health shall 

suspend the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales Permit if the Board of Health finds that a violation of 

this regulation occurred.  For purposes of such suspensions, the Board shall make the determination 

notwithstanding any separate criminal or non-criminal proceedings brought in court hereunder or under the 

Massachusetts General Laws for the same offense. All tobacco products and nicotine delivery products shall be 

removed from the retail establishment upon suspension of the Tobacco and Nicotine Delivery Product Sales 

Permit. Failure to remove all tobacco and nicotine delivery products shall constitute a separate violation of this 

regulation.  
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N. Non-Criminal Disposition: 

Whoever violates any provision of this regulation may be penalized by the non-criminal method of disposition 

as provided in Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 40, Section 21D or by filing a criminal complaint at the 

appropriate venue. 

Each day any violation exists shall be deemed to be a separate offense. 

 

O. Enforcement: 

Enforcement of this regulation shall be by the Swampscott Board of Health or its designated agent(s). 

Any resident who desires to register a complaint pursuant to the regulation may do so by contacting the 

Swampscott Board of Health or its designated agent(s) and the Board shall investigate. 

 

P. Severability: 

If any provision of these regulations is declared invalid or unenforceable, the other provisions shall not be 

affected thereby but shall continue in full force and effect. 

 

Q. Effective Date: 

This regulation shall take effect on June 1, 2016. 

 

1.  ____________________________      

 

2. _____________________________      

 

3. _____________________________  


